Thanks

Red face VAT and NON-VAT IT Company

Hi Vic,

Good day. I just want to ask regarding VAT and NON-VAT. I started as an independent IT consultant August 2011 with an IT company and one of the team handling contractors told me to register as non-vat since the projected income I will be earning for 2011 will not exceed the threshold of over 1.5M gross annual receipts. Prior to being an independent consultant I was a regular employee for another company from January to end of July. However even if we add this income it will not exceed the threshold so I registered as a NON-VAT and issue NON-VAT receipts. Now my question is, with the projected income I'll be earning for 2012 I'll exceed 1.5M. When should I register as a VAT tax payer? and can I issue the OR I have now even if it has non-vat tagging after registering as a VAT payer. I have 20 booklets of ORs but since I only issue 2 ORs per month so I'm wondering if I still need to request to create a new OR with VAT tagging.... thanks and I hope I have made my questions clearer...

Thanks
    Hi, with the projected revenue you will be earning for 2012, it's good to change your registration now from nonVAT to VAT. Even though you registered as nonVAT if your revenue/sales exceeds the threshold 1.5M - you are already considered as VAT liable. That is why some companies who think that their sales/receipts will meet the threshold (example if they earn revenue of 375K in a quarter) already register their company as VAT registered. Now, with regard to your old OR/invoices, you can visit BIR and ask a permit if they will allow you to stamp your old nonVAT invoices with VAT indication while you are in your process of registering and printing your VAT registered OR/invoices.
    Read business and other related articles at BusinessTips.Ph
    Submit your business listing for free at BusinessDirectory.Ph

Thanks